Music

Festival Dilemmas

Did you get your Glastonbury ticket this year? No? Me neither. I tried before the line up was released and it just wasn’t to be. However, after seeing the line up, I have to say I’m not that gutted. I’ve been twice before, and it is one of my favourite places ever, but as a student on a budget, I don’t think I can justify £200 on a festival with a lineup I’m not crazily excited about. I think the line up is good, but not great (it looks as though they have blown a lot of their budget on the Rolling Stones – and in my opinion Mumford and Sons are not a good enough band to be headlining what is meant to be one of the best festivals in the world). The bands I want to see I have either seen before or I can see somewhere else cheaper. When I thought of writing this post, I was going to recommend Festibelly, which I went to last year, but they have announced today that they will not be holding it this year, and will return again in 2014.

So now I have a dilemma – where to go instead? Well, I’ve been having a look around at alternative British festivals this summer, and I thought I would share as I’m sure many of you are in the same position as I am.

End of the Road Lineup 2013

End of the Road Festival

  • When? 30th August – 1st September
  • Where? Larmer Tree Gardens, North Dorset,

With a line up including Sigur Ros, Warpaint, Belle and Sebastian, Daughter and Palma Violets, this bank holiday festival is sure to be delightful. I saw Sigur Ros last year at Bestival, and they were as beautiful and ambient as you would expect. End of the Road not only has a great music lineup for a fairly small festival, it also has comedy, cinema and a variety of workshops for everyone to get involved in. With weekend tickets going for £165, I think this would be a great festival option this year. Purchase tickets here.

Picture 4

Isle of Wight Festival

  • When? 13th – 16th June
  • Where? Seaclose Park, Newport, Isle of Wight

The festival season will kick off with the Isle of Wight festival. Ok, it is hardly a little alternative festival, but I think plenty of people looking to go to a bigger festival this year will be snapping up tickets. I went to the Isle of Wight festival a few years ago (and saw Blondie and Paul McCartney, to name a few) and it was thoroughly enjoyable. I’m sure it has increased it’s capacity and will be selling more tickets than when I went, but it didn’t feel overcrowded and was a great family festival. The lineup this year includes The Stone Roses, the Killers, Bastille, Jake Bugg, Blondie, Paloma Faith, Bon Jovi and Ben Howard (the list goes on and on!). Tickets are £185, so pretty pricey and almost as expensive as a Glastonbury ticket, but the lineup does include some great up and coming artists, as well as a few legends.

Picture 9

Latitude Festival

  • When? 18th – 21st July
  • Where? Henham Park, Southwold, Suffolk

For me, Latitude is a great contender for me this year. I think that’s partly because I’ve never been before and I’ve only ever hear great things. The headliners this year are Bloc Party, Kraftwerk and Foals, with Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Jessie Ware and Alt-J making appearances across the weekend too. Latitudes tag line is ‘More than just a Music Festival’, and as I’ve never been, I’m not sure what it’s like. However, looking at the website it looks like there is indeed much more going on. The comedy line up is strong, including appearances from Dylan Moran and the spoken word section includes Carol Ann Duffy. I’m intrigued by the variety at Latitude, as it boasts everything from DJ sets in the forest to Cabaret performances. Tickets, again, are pricey (£190.50), but Latitude offers customers a 3 part payment scheme to lessen the blow to our bank accounts. How kind.

GQ-Field-Day

Field Day Festival

  • When? 25th May
  • Where? Victoria Park, London

For those of you that are unsure about a whole weekend festival, but still want a taster of some great live music in the Brititsh sunshine (ok, it’s in May so maybe that’s a bit hit and miss) then perhaps Field Day festival is more your sort of thing. Located in East London, expect Victoria Park to be full to the brim with super trendy hipsters with vintage Levi’s and Raybans a-plenty. This year Django Django, Daughter, Bat for Lashes, Four Tet, Disclosure and Palma Violets will be making appearances, as well as many less well know artists (people much cooler than me may recognise more than I do!). Field day is a great day out and for me it’s perfect as it’s just round the corner from me. Tickets are £54.50 (here), so an affordable option if you don’t want to commit a lot of money.

For the time being those are my considerations, however I’m sure I’ll think of lots more I want to go to, so look out for future festival posts!

8 thoughts on “Festival Dilemmas

  1. You are under strict instructions to attend the Latitude Festival, if only because Kraftwerk is playing, and I love Kraftwerk and I’ve never gotten to see them perform live, and I want a full report.

  2. I’ve heard good things about Secret Garden Party as well,, have you thought about that? And definitely come to Latitude – I’m stewarding there this year and I went two years ago and it was amazing! There’s so much to do, you could probably go the whole weekend without seeing any music at all!

    • Oooh yes Latitude is very tempting this year – although I wouldn’t want to go the whole weekend without seeing any music, defeats the point! I hope you get to wear a special super cool stewards jacket 😉

  3. I have to choose between Latitude and the Secret Garden Party. Can anyone help me decide? The Latitude line up looks great but I hear that the Secret Garden Party is all about the experience (p.s. I’m not really into raving..)

  4. Pingback: Latitude With Attitude | KingLilith

Leave a Reply

