Food and Drink

Chocolate Cola Cake

DSC_0238

Chocolate cola cake – sounds a little strange doesn’t it? But I’ve used this recipe a few times now and it works a treat (originally from James Martin – Desserts, which I actually strangely found discarded on a pavement years ago). The cake doesn’t actually taste like cola, but the addition of the cola makes the cake super moist and I’m assuming the bubbles do something good as well as my cake rose beautifully. This time round the cola cake was in aid of my granddad’s 70th birthday, and was a resounding success as far as I could tell. As all the recipes I follow/make up are, this is super simple.
DSC_0219

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 250g self raising flour
  • 300g golden caster sugar
  • 250g butter
  • 3 heaped tsp cocoa
  • Pinch of bicarbonate of soda
  • 200 ml cola
  • 75 ml milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1tsp vanilla extractDSC_0220

For the frosting:

  • 60g butter
  • 200g icing sugar
  • 2-3 tsp cocoa
  • 2 tbsp cola

This is a simple case of combining all the dry ingredients in a bowl (the flour, sugar, cocoa and bicarbonate of soda) and adding the wet. So, melt the butter in a saucepan and pour in the cola. Then pour this sticky buttery goodness into the dry ingredients along with the milk, beaten eggs and vanilla extract.

Then all you have to do is mix gently (but make sure you eliminate all lumps) – I used an electric whisk on the lowest setting. Tip into a greased cake tin. A tip is to line the bottom of the cake tin with greaseproof paper, and then when tipping the cake out you just need to run a knife round the edge and the cake should come out with ease.

Picture 2

Bake the cake for about 40 minutes, but increase cooking time if the cake is in a particularly deep baking tin (as mine was, it took about an hour).

The icing is a typical buttercream, so beat the butter, icing sugar and cocoa together til thoroughly blended, the only difference is that you then add the cola (only 2 tbsp) and beat that into the mix too. Spread the icing over your cake once cool.

Try this out, it sounds unusual, but is actually just a simple and ever so moist chocolate cake.

Best enjoyed on a sunny Sunday afternoon after a pub lunch. Granddad optional.

photo-1

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Cola Cake

  1. I made this on Saturday because I happened to find myself with almost a whole can of Coca Cola (long story). It is indeed a delicious and moist cake! Your icing was far more successful than mine though. I had no butter, and no icing sugar, so I used hot chocolate powder and milk. Surprisingly effective. Horrifyingly fattening.

  2. This is an amazing recipe. However I just have one doubt!! Coco-cola already got sugar in it. And we are already adding 300 g of sugar and flour is about 250 g.(whenever I bake a cake i put it in same proportion like 250 g of flour then 250 g of sugar!) so I was curious to know.. Does this recipe make it a really sweet cake??

    I just want to know about its taste??

    Thanks in advance 🙂

    • Not at all. When adding cocoa to a cake, you substitute some of the flour so it’s not too dry. If this wasn’t a chocolate cake, the flour and sugar would be of the same proportion.
      Also it’s less than 2/3rds of a can of cola in a large cake which serves about 12 people.
      The cocoa I used is very dark as well, so that bitterness takes some of the sweetness away as well. I don’t have a massively sweet tooth and this recipe wasn’t too sweet for me!

  3. Hello! I am a recent discoverer of your blog and I am really enjoying reading it. This cake looks stupendous! I would really like to make it for my sister this weekend – but how much butter goes in the actual cake?? It seems to be missing from the ingredients list… Thanks very much! From Mary
    P.S. I like that you found the recipe book on the floor. My favourite mug is one I found abandoned on a wall 6 years ago

    • Oh good spot, I missed that out by accident! It’s one block of butter – 250g. I’ll edit the post and add that in now. Good luck and I hope your sister loves it!
      And yes, it’s one of my favourite recipe books – completely free! One man’s trash is another man’s treasure as they say…

Leave a Reply

