Uncategorized

Liebster Award – Passing on the virtual love

liebster2Recently, I was nominated by a fellow blogger (afotitos, thank you very much!) for a Liebster Award (from the German verb for love, I assume). It’s not a traditional award with a panel of judges or official nominations or anything like that, but it’s just a way of one blogger telling another blogger that they think what they’re doing is pretty great. It was a nice surprise for me that someone was actually reading my blog at all, let alone really liked it. It’s an award to promote new blogs with fewer than 200 followers, to tell the world that your blog is worth visiting. To accept the virtual award, all I have to do is thank the blogger that nominated me (tick!), answer 11 questions asked by the blogger that nominated me and nominate a few blogs myself (and get them to answer my questions in return). Sounds pretty easy, so let’s spread the love!

Afotitos’ questions for me:

1) Why did you create your blog?
I thought it would be a great way to practice writing on a regular basis, whilst sharing my photography and delicious (if I do say so myself) recipes with the world.

2) What blogs do you find most inspiring?
I’m a huge fan of all things food. Blogs with plenty of recipes and beautiful pictures of food are my favourites at the moment. I also love browsing blogs with the tag ‘London’, as it’s always nice to see what people are up to on my doorstep and it informs me of what’s on (like a better version of Time Out, really)

3) What language do you use when blogging and why?
English. Unfortunately it’s the only one I’m fluent in, the ignorant human that I am.

4) What is the best aspect of blogging?
The great responses I get from fellow bloggers. WordPress has a great community of bloggers and I’ve found so many great blogs, it’s just lovely when they take time to visit mine, and they seem to like it!

5) How do you spread your blog?
Well, I don’t really… I sometimes put a link on my facebook, but I get most of my followers, likes and comments from blogs I have already visited – it’s a great give and take process.

6) Have you ever felt like neglecting your blog?
So far, so good. I’m enjoying blogging and I haven’t got bored yet!

7) What is, for you, the best frequency for adding entries?
I tend to blog about every other day (so far) although sometimes that’s hard to keep up – I do my best as I think blogging regularly is key.

8) How long would you like your blog to last?
As long as there are people reading, I’ll keep writing. In fact I’d probably carry on even if nobody read it. It’s nice having my own corner of the internet to do with what I wish. When I’ve finished studying, the plan is to go traveling, so hopefully the travel section of my blog will grow and my food section will become very diverse!

9) Why did you choose the theme (appearance) of your blog?
I wanted something which was easy to navigate and looked simple. I like that I can still customize it so it looks individual.

10) Why did you choose WordPress and not other company?
I did actually try blogger before WordPress, but I struggled with the format so decided to make the switch. WordPress is so easy to use and seems to have a really friendly community of bloggers.

11) Have you met many people thanks to your blog?
I’ve interacted with many other foodies and amateur photographers, which is great. I learn new recipes and get inspired by their photos.

The blogs I want to nominate and pass the love on to are listed below:

Now all you lovely bloggers need to do is answer my questions and pass on the love to those blogs you love!

1) Why did you start blogging?
2) How do you keep your content original and interesting?
3) What/who inspires you?
4) Would you still blog if you knew nobody was going to read it?
5) Blogging – the future or a fad?
6) What are the best things about your blog? (Go on, let’s have some shameless self promotion!)
7) Have you learned anything from blogging? If so, what?
8) If you were going to be an animal, what sort of animal would you be and why?
Ok I digress, I’ve run out of questions now!

Thanks again to afotitos, and I hope you all like my recommendations.

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Passing on the virtual love

  1. Pingback: Tag “You’re it” Award, thanks Shaun! | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Pingback: liebster | Through The Lens

  3. Pingback: Spreading the WordPress Liebe | all i love

Leave a Reply

